Weekend Events

Standard

Time and again I have professed my love and loyalty towards anything handmade….. I have a very deep emotional connect with anything that represents Indian arts and crafts.

In my neighborhood nests a quaint little shop which sells handloom stuff and is run by a very competent lady who is a part of Dastkar Andhra. She is passionate about handloom and what really inspires me about her is the extremely observable innate passion in promoting handlooms. She works with weavers face-to-face and stocks fabrics and stuff from the lesser known weavers of the state, giving them the right exposure and opportunities to sell….

    In an endeavor to nourish it further, she will be conducting an exhibition and sale of Hand-woven Handloom cotton this weekend. If possible, please drop by and encourage the artisans and weavers…..

                                             Goutami weaves presents

   Summer sale and Exhibition of Hand woven cotton, silk cotton, Khadi, Kalmakari and fabrics from lesser known weavers of the state along with Kalahasti kalamkari patches and Eco friendly bags from Pondicherry.

                                                            At    

      Sri Kowtha Kamakoti Kalyana Nilayam , Kowtha Swarajya Vihar, # 10, Padmarao Nagar, Swarajya press compound, Secunderabad – 500015

Timings: 11 AM to 8 PM (From Friday 5th to Sunday 7th March 2010)

       There will also be a live demonstration of the very famous Kalamkari way of painting by an artist. (Kalamkari refers to the Indian craft of painting Natural Dyes on cotton or silk fabric using a bamboo pen).

Note: This isn’t an advertising post. I really liked the stuff I bought from her, hence wanted you guys to know about it too.

3 responses »

  1. I wish I could be informed about such events in Bangalore. I’m ashamed at my lack of knowledge about Indian artisans which should be corrected PRONTO. Any tips on resources and where I can start? 🙂

    Welcome 🙂 I love your blog.
    If I get to know of any such events in B’lore will keep you informed. You can research on the internet about these artisans…each state of India has its own unique art, handloom stuff….you can start searching state wise….If anything interests you drop me email. I’ll try my best to help you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Inventory… « Random Musings

Leave a Reply

