Weighty Woes

Standard

walkingIt resurfaces yet again….its been an issue since long and was kept under the wraps rusting for a while….well, the questions of the moment is “My weight”.

I have been battling the bulge for long and after a series of illnesses which sapped me from all my energy, the doc came out with a diagnosis that its the avoirdupoisness which is the main culprit…Pursuing a profession which dictates me to be seated all the time at work just aggravates it ……and its a wide spread side effect for most of them in the IT industry (am a software engineer).

When I look back I dont really remember when exactly the pounds started to pile on…..and let me you tell me they always stack at the wrong places….wait, Is there a right place??? I was always an underweight child and teenager…painfully thin and a constant worry to my parents ( thinness meant sickness for some strange reason). I still remember my mom pestering me to gulp down a tall glass of whole milk banana milkshake every morning (in addition to breakfast) so that I just add some kgs…well, its another story that her try outs didn’t last long…..So thats how my college life went…mom trying to come up with various modus operandi to fatten up me..which intensified exponentially for a few days following a vacation to my home town or a wedding in the family….where the concerned relatives (???) bothered and fussed about my weight and mom always thought something should be done to her dear daughter and then its a cycle again…some new recipes, new trials…and meant a new set of miseries for me…but now How I wish I could turn back time and get back to those days….especially when my mom says ” I never imagined in my wildest dreams that you could put on so much weight?” I just want to chant some mantra (like in movies) and transform into my desirable oldself….

Since then life has taken a 360 degree turn quite literally and at the present state where it is I am technically overweight…not obese.Though I look lighter than what I weigh…… am a good 10-12 kgs heavier than the ideal body weight a woman of my height/age should theoretically be…ok, I dont really have a regard for such theories but I care for my health and hence these surplus pounds have to be shaken away soon…..

And S being the supportive sweetheart he always is perked me up and we both together started to walk in the nearby park and got the show on the road.Its been 2 weeks since we set out on these walks and we thoroughly enjoy them. Having a walk worthy park in the neighbourhood is a luxury in Hyderabad which am sure not many can boast of…what with the mad erections of lifeless structures in every nook and corner of the city one is subjected to these days…the concept of lungspace has come closer to extinction…

We truly understand this and indulge ourselves totally…the fresh oxygen, chirping of birds,ducks floating merrily in the lake, the fresh fresh smell of dewy lush green leaves and glowing trees early in the morning is quite a sight to behold…I guess we are greatly motivated because of these and stay put to the routine as religiously as we can…

Anyways its been so far so good, S and I have also been watching what we eat and are keeping an eye on the carbs and the fats….moderation is the key word….It works better this way for me…since the day I think of a specified diet and rule out eating certain sections of food….I am deepyly hit by a craving for that specific food variety, which I wanted to keep away from…so this avoiding certain varieties of food doesn’t go well with me…since when I consciously evade anything, I miss it immensely and get back to it with an unimaginable vengeance…and what follows is immense guilt and dejection and poor S at the receiving end of this glumness…

And the results…S has really gone down…looks leaner than his leanself..and there is sure change in me too..with clothes getting looser and fitting better…I am generally happy and wish to bid goodbye to flab this time….forever…

* This post is more of a rant but still makes me glad since its been a while I rambled anything… And it reinstates the fact that I indeed love writing….even if its without rhyme and reason..

3 responses »

  1. Hi Rupa. I think we women always have weight issues, no matter how heavy/light we are. (I am officially underweight according to BMI calculations, but ‘weight’ concerns are is still on my mind). I think it is time we shift our focus from weight to fitness and healthy lifestyle.,.. and this is why the second part of your post captured my heart. Enjoy nature and good food!! Live happy 🙂

    Very true 🙂 As we grow older I guess we all understand the benefits of eating healthy and exercising…
    And now I want to be toned, fit and healthy rather than being thin….. Thanks Spillay

  2. Very well written !
    Its awesome you have started seeing changes !! God, I soooo know the feeling when all of a sudden your clothes starting fitting better ! I also know the “unbelievable” feeling when all of a sudden clothes look fuller n all I wanna wear are 2 sweat shirts alternatively …LOL !
    Oh, the good ol weight issues 🙂

    Thanks IG ….I so so much know the 2 sweatshirts feeling….its something a woman can never get over with…isn’t it ? 🙂

  3. Hi Rupa, wow, your story sounds just like mine, I too was way too thin growing up! SBD really helped me. Regarding your question about Veg options in SBD, there are some recipes and meal plans on the Southbeachdiet.com website. You can sign up for a 7 day free trial to get access to that info.

Leave a Reply

